Forget the “Quick fixes” and make it a Lifestyle change!

I saw this photo on facebook and  I totally related to it . We live in a society of   “quick fixes” when it comes to weight loss.

Yes, we sure do! We want results right now, forgetting all about how long it took to put it on. It didn’t happen over night.  I have been a member of the “quick fix” diet mentality  more than once and while I did lose over 30 lbs and kept over half of it off, it didn’t address the problem. “ME”, and what I was doing to myself to get in that position to begin with.  Not to mention when the weight comes back on, it is usually more weight each time. Been there, done that!

We know that eating healthy, watching your portions, and  exercise really works in most cases. It’s been proven, time and time again. It may take longer, but the journey is worth it and  much healthier too.

I read an article at The Healthy Home Economist and this part stuck in my mind: “A healthy middle-aged person in a supportive environment may require at least 160 days for losing 35 lbs. of excess body fat on a strict 1,200 calorie diet.  and…If your environment isn’t supportive, or you aren’t exactly in perfect health, or you are well into menopause, or you lapse every so often into binge eating, or you can’t give up alcohol, or what have you, it may take even longer than 160 days, much, much longer…”

Then I decided to check out If It Fits Your Macros (IIFYM) (which is what I am currently using).  I entered my details and changed it for a sedentary person with no exercise entered and I also wanted aggressive fat loss of 25%(Reckless). My results were higher than 1,200 calories. IIFYM calculator suggested 1,656 calories! So I redid it and added in some moderate exercise, 5 days a week for 60 minutes and received the same suggested calories. Did it once more this time for a 20% Fat loss (which is safer)  and it suggested 1,738 calories.

Interesting, right! No wonder it is all so confusing.

Feel free to share  your thoughts and any tips that were successful for you! 🙂

no-quick-fixes

 

 

2 thoughts on “Forget the “Quick fixes” and make it a Lifestyle change!

    1. I am sorry that you both are going thru that Susiesopinions . I will keep you both in my prayers. It is very stressful and you need to keep that nutrition up any way you can. 🙂 We had to use protein shakes with my son when he was a toddler. He was allergic to dairy ,asthmatic and born premature. The Dr said he was underweight and we needed to get it up and they sure helped! For my weight-loss battle, not so much. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

